Lasting Impressions

This experience has taught me so much that I will be able to take into my career as a teacher.  My placement was anything but what I expected.  But I’m glad it was.

From this experience, I am even more confident in how passionate I am about being a high school science teacher.  Teaching middle school English for the last three weeks has definitely challenged me but made me even more excited for my future.

It has also taught me a lot about working with students whose first language is not English.  Every student I had every single day was one of these students.  I got so much experience working with these students and making accommodations for them.  I will have ESL students every year as a teacher.  Before this experience, I had little to no practice teaching these students.  But international student teaching threw me in the deep end, and I had to figure out how to teach students who couldn’t exactly understand what I was saying.

I will forever cherish this amazing experience and use everything I learned in my future classroom.  Ciao!

Leave a Reply

